Jump to content


Welcome to DevFuse Forums


Sign In  Log in with Facebook

Create Account
Welcome to DevFuse Forums, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of DevFuse Forums by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

(View All Products)Featured Products

  • Donations


    Help fund your forum with donations, setup goals and track member donations. Offer rewards for members donating.
  • Timeslips


    Have your members submit their race times and share with others.
  • Videos


    Allows your members to submit their own videos for community viewing. Support is included for all the major video sites.
  • Forms


    Build your own forms for your members without coding experience. Support included for pm, email and topics.
  • Collections


    Build a community database of items for your members. Full features custom fields included.

Photo

Firefox 4


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Michael

Michael

    Management

  • Management
  • 3,523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • IP.Board Version:IPB 3.4.x

Posted 28 July 2009 - 04:47 AM

Anyone else seen the early screenshots of Firefox 4? I'm not sure it's set in stone yet but what do you guys think of it so far?

http://mashable.com/.../27/firefox-40/

#2 Sacred

Sacred

    Elite Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Egypt - Cairo
  • IP.Board Version:IPB 3.0.x

Posted 28 July 2009 - 05:33 AM

it looks nice... but i guess it will take so much resources
my current ff already takes so much resources

#3 Michael

Michael

    Management

  • Management
  • 3,523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • IP.Board Version:IPB 3.4.x

Posted 29 July 2009 - 09:11 PM

it looks nice... but i guess it will take so much resources
my current ff already takes so much resources


You need a better computer :P

#4 Lindsey

Lindsey

    Advanced Member

  • Customers
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • IP.Board Version:IPB 2.3.x

Posted 29 July 2009 - 11:07 PM

Firefox 4 is looking like chrome :(. But its for the better I guess...

#5 Joshua

Joshua

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brisbane, Australia
  • IP.Board Version:N/A

Posted 30 July 2009 - 01:06 AM

sure hope they keep tabs on bottom. not a fan of the tabs on top thing.

#6 Michael

Michael

    Management

  • Management
  • 3,523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • IP.Board Version:IPB 3.4.x

Posted 31 July 2009 - 12:39 AM

I don't think it at the top either. But wouldn't mind independent tabs that are protected from a firefox crash.

#7 mamagail

mamagail

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • IP.Board Version:IPB 3.0.x

Posted 02 August 2009 - 10:25 PM

I haven't seen it but if it is as slow loading as 3.5 i don't think I will bother. once firefox loads its fine. It still crashes on me but not as much as the 3.4 did but it is very slow in opening. I did find out thats because it checks all the files on your computer system prior to opening. I don't care for that much.
Posted Image

#8 ThornKRT

ThornKRT

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Branch MI. USA.
  • IP.Board Version:N/A

Posted 02 August 2009 - 11:59 PM

I did find out thats because it checks all the files on your computer system prior to opening. I don't care for that much.

where did you see this info at? because I have way over 20,000 files on just my C drive not to mention my other 3 HHDs and it takes about 2-3 secs for FF to open/load for me, try setting FF to open without a homepage and see if that helps ya out speed wise, also having a lot of temporary internet files saved will slow the opening of a browser down so remember to clear them on a regular basis
Posted Image
STRESS = The Confusion Created When One's Mind Over-rides The Body's
Basic Desire To Choke The Hell Out Of Someone Who Desperately Deserves It

#9 mamagail

mamagail

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • IP.Board Version:IPB 3.0.x

Posted 03 August 2009 - 08:12 AM

i have to remember to clear out my temporary files I always forget to do that and I did notice when I clean those out firefox loads faster. don't remember exactly but I did a google search about the slow speed and I think it might have been during that search.
Posted Image

#10 ThornKRT

ThornKRT

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Branch MI. USA.
  • IP.Board Version:N/A

Posted 05 August 2009 - 12:57 AM

you can set FF to clear your temp files automatically when it closes if you'd like , so you don't forget like I do , last time I cleared mine I had about 650MBs worth of them lol
Posted Image
STRESS = The Confusion Created When One's Mind Over-rides The Body's
Basic Desire To Choke The Hell Out Of Someone Who Desperately Deserves It

#11 Lindsey

Lindsey

    Advanced Member

  • Customers
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • IP.Board Version:IPB 2.3.x

Posted 05 August 2009 - 02:49 AM

Not as bad as 3.2 GiG worth :P




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users